Driving drunk is a serious crime with serious penalties. Alcohol plays a role in a full third of all traffic deaths in Minnesota. If you’ve been accused of this crime and need to know what’s ahead of you, or if you simply want to avoid this dangerous mistake, keep reading. This blog will discuss Minnesota’s legal blood alcohol level limits and the consequences of being convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol.
Minnesota’s Legal Blood Alcohol Concentration Limit
Each state sets their blood alcohol concentration limit, or BAC, a little differently. Minnesota’s BAC is .08%, meaning that no more than .08% of your bloodstream can be alcohol. While this seems like a tiny percentage, at this range, most people start losing their reasoning skills, depth perception, and peripheral vision, making them dangerous drivers.
For anyone, getting pulled over can be a stressful ordeal. Seeing those flashing red and blue lights in your rearview mirror can cause instant anxiety. And as the police officer approaches your car, you may be asking yourself if you remembered to put the registration paperwork in the glove box.
But being pulled over doesn’t have to be so intimidating. If you know what to say and do when you’re pulled over, the process can be that much smoother. For tips on how to act when pulled over by an officer, read further.
Unfortunately, you were recently arrested and charged with a crime. Fortunately, you were released on bail. While you’re glad you’re not in jail right now, you’re understandably nervous about the outcome of your case.
While you wait for your sentencing, you need to prepare for your court appearance. The more prepared you are, the better the trial will go—and, hopefully, the better result you’ll get.
1. Find a Lawyer
Representing yourself in court typically isn’t a great idea. A good lawyer has likely handled dozens of cases similar to yours. He or she knows what evidence and witnesses you need to portray a successful argument. Plus, a lawyer has the experience and expertise to help you obtain a successful outcome for your case.
Many people avoid finding a lawyer because they worry about the cost. However, there are ways to find an affordable lawyer. You could visit a legal aid society that connects low-income people with free legal services. Alternatively, you could look for a lawyer who is willing to represent you on a contingency basis. This means that the lawyer won’t charge you anything unless they win your case.
In the ’90s TV show “Twin Peaks,” one of the main characters, Ben Horne, is arrested on suspicion of murdering a girl in the town. Ben is held in the county jail for over 24 hours without being charged. When his lawyer arrives, he tells the sheriff that since 24 hours have passed, Ben must either be charged or released.
The sheriff promptly charges Ben-who is actually innocent-with murder and holds him in the cell until the true culprit is caught several days later.
This storyline repeats itself in countless procedural cop shows and legal dramas. In shows like “Law and Order” and “NCIS,” a character is often arrested on suspicion of committing a crime and is held for 24 hours or more without being charged and without having a bail amount set.
Can this situation actually happen to you? If you’re held for 24 hours without being charged, is the jail really required to let you go?
When a warrant has been issued for your arrest, it can be a startling ordeal. Perhaps you’ve dealt with such a situation before, or perhaps you’re entirely new to the process. Either way, you may be thinking about turning yourself in.
Keep in mind that you don’t have to turn yourself in. You can wait until the authorities come to arrest you, but the decision is entirely up to you. Should you decide to turn yourself in, consider the following tips before you do.