After your arrest, the court will set your bail. Once you pay your bail, you’re free to leave jail until your next trial date.
Bail bonds are issued by third-party companies who specialize in this service. The amount of the required bail bond fee varies based on the state that you live in and the bail bondsman’s contract, but it’s usually around 10 percent of your bail amount. If your bond is set at $5,000, this means you have to pay a fee of $500. Before you sign a contract with a bail bondsman, make sure you ask the following questions.
1. Do You Have Any Guidelines Concerning Acceptable Bond Amounts?
Some bail bond services have minimums for the bail bonds that they can issue. Others don’t have minimums but have rules that dictate the maximum amount of bail that they can cover. Whether or not a bail bond service has rules concerning minimums and maximums for its bail bonds varies according to the market and the size of the bail bond company.
When you get a call from a loved one telling you they’ve been arrested, your first thought may be to hurry up and bail them out of jail. The faster you bail them out, the less work or school they will miss, the sooner they can begin working on their defense, and the less time they will spend in jail.
However, the circumstances may not always work as you expect with their case, and bail isn’t always offered so easily. And, unfortunately, extenuating circumstances can prevent your loved one from being offered a reasonable bail amount, at least initially. The information here will educate you on some of the reasons your loved one may be given a high bail amount, and what can be done about this situation.
Being arrested and booked in jail — even just overnight — is a hassle for anyone, but for adults with young kids, it can be an absolute nightmare. Who will take care of your kids while you’re in jail? How quickly can you get out of jail to care for them yourself? What if you were arrested on a weekend with no possibility of going before a judge until Monday?
If you’re a parent, keep reading to learn how you can continue to protect your kids even if you’re away from them in jail.
If You’re Arrested in the Presence of Your Children
In Minnesota, burglary can be a felony or a misdemeanor depending on the circumstances in which the alleged crime was committed. Even then, the penalties for the crime of burglary are steep and include possible jail time and/or payment of a fine.
If you are arrested for burglary and are offered bail, you could make the bail payment on your own or ask a bail bonds company to post a bond on your behalf. This will secure your release from jail so you can have time to build a strong defense.
Read on to learn more about what to expect if you or a loved one is arrested for burglary in Minnesota.