What Happens If You Are Arrested for Burglary?
In Minnesota, burglary can be a felony or a misdemeanor depending on the circumstances in which the alleged crime was committed. Even then, the penalties for the crime of burglary are steep and include possible jail time and/or payment of a fine.
If you are arrested for burglary and are offered bail, you could make the bail payment on your own or ask a bail bonds company to post a bond on your behalf. This will secure your release from jail so you can have time to build a strong defense.
Read on to learn more about what to expect if you or a loved one is arrested for burglary in Minnesota.
Definition of Burglary
The laws in Minnesota define burglary as the act of breaking in and entering any building with intent to commit a crime or entering a building and actually committing a crime.
After you are arrested for burglary, you will need to show up in court on a certain date. During this court hearing, the prosecutor will try to convince the court that you committed the crime of burglary.
The prosecutor must demonstrate to the court that you entered a building and had the intent to commit a crime when you made your way into the building or, even if you did not have the intent to commit a crime, you still went ahead and committed the crime.
Categories of Burglary
The penalties for burglary range from a maximum of one to 20 years imprisonment and corresponding fines. In Minnesota, the crime of burglary falls into various categories. These include first, second, third, and fourth-degree burglary charges.
Burglary of the first degree is a felony. If the law finds you guilty, the court may convict you to a maximum of 20 years in jail and/or ask you to pay a fine of not more than $35,000.
Burglary in the second degree attracts a prison sentence of up to 10 years and/or a fine of not more than $20,000.
A third-degree burglary carries less severe penalties and the law considers this a gross misdemeanor or a felony. If convicted, you could serve up to five years in prison and/or pay a fine of up to $10,000.
Lastly, burglary in the fourth degree is the least serious type of burglary. Nevertheless, the court may sentence you to a maximum of one year in prison and/or require you to pay a fine of up to $3,000.
Type of Building
In addition to establishing that you entered a building with the intent to commit a crime and/or you actually committed a crime, the court will consider the type of building you entered to determine the appropriate punishment.
If you entered an occupied dwelling without consent, the court considers this a serious crime. This is because the court assumes that your actions could have injured the occupant(s) of the dwelling. A dwelling can be a home or any building in which people live.
The court also considers the forceful entrance in other buildings such as a bank, religious institution, government building, historical site, school, pharmacy, or a building where controlled substances are stored as a serious crime of burglary.
Depending on factors such as your criminal history, the court may decide to release you on bail on certain conditions. Burglary is a serious crime in Minnesota so you want to take advantage of the bail offer, secure your release from jail, and get to work to prepare for your case.
At Absolute Bail Bonds, we understand how stressful an arrest can be for you and your loved ones. If you cannot afford the bail amount the court sets, you can count on us to pay the bail on your behalf. Call us today to find out more about our reliable bail bond services.